There are several key steps you must take before you can practice as a hair stylist, nail technician, esthetician, or another cosmetology career in Georgia. It is important for aspiring stylists to know the path they need to take before they begin so that they do not end up wasting time or money, or worse getting in trouble for practicing without the proper training or a cosmetology license in GA.
Before you start working towards your cosmetology license in GA, you first need to fulfill the most basic requirements. This includes a high school diploma or GED. You must also be at least 17 years of age before you can enter beauty school in Georgia.
Training and Education
It is important that you fulfill the minimum hours of training and education required by the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. The current requirements are 1500 hours for a cosmetology license in GA. If you plan to only work in one field, you may be able to apply for a specialty license under the cosmetology umbrella, such as esthetician or nail technician, that require fewer training hours to complete. Georgia also has an apprenticeship program, which requires 3000 hours for the full cosmetology license. It is important that you receive your education from a state-approved school or apprenticeship program; otherwise, you may have to redo your training.
Pass the State Licensing Exam
Once you have successfully completed your education and training requirements, you can sit for the licensing exam. You will have to contact PSI Exams in order to book your examination. The cosmetology exam is in two parts, a written and practical, and you must pass both sections. In the event of failing one, you can retake that section of the exam.
Apply and Pay for Your License
Upon successful completion of your examination and training, it is time to apply for your new license. The board offers online applications, although you can also download and print the application and mail it in to the board as well. You will have to pay the non-refundable application fee. Currently, it costs $30 to apply for your initial license. It is crucial that you complete all parts of the application; otherwise, your license will be delayed.
As soon as your have your cosmetology license in GA, you can start working. During the application process, you can start to apply for jobs and get ready to start working. However, you want to have your license in hand or paperwork stating that it is on its way that is not just a receipt of submission before you work. Otherwise, you will be in breach of the law and could face fines and other penalties, as well as open yourself up for lawsuits.
Renew Your License
You also have to be sure to renew your license every two years. It is also required to complete five hours of continuing education. The board will send you a notice that it is time to renew, but it is still up to you to complete the renewal even if you have not received this information. You must have your renewed license before you can continue to work.
It does not take a lot of time and effort to obtain your cosmetology license, apart from the actual learning process of the field. As long as you take the time to receive an approved education and pass your examination, you can apply for your cosmetology license in GA and start working as soon as you receive it.
License holders should check out our Georgia approved continuing education cosmetology courses for a stress-free license renewal.