Every state has different license requirements for cosmetologists. In Texas, you have to renew your license every two years in order to remain in compliant and legally practice your trade. Although it is easy to renew your license, there are some important things that you need to know.
How to Renew a Texas Cosmetology License
In Texas, the governing body for cosmetology licenses is the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation (TDLR). You should always check the latest information for renewing your license to ensure the board has not made any changes. You can apply to renew your license online. You always want to submit a renewal application rather than apply for a new license, and there are different applications depending on your exact license. The application fee is currently $53.
At any point during the two years, you can apply for your license renewal. You want to be sure that you do not go beyond the two years, or else you will have to pay penalty fees and may have to submit additional paperwork.
Continuing Education Requirements
In addition to the application, renewal fee, and current license requirements, you also need to undergo at least 4 hours of continuing education coursework. You can do this at any accredited program that is also approved by the TDLR, whether online or in person. These four hours must include one hour covering a sanitation topic, and the other three hours can be in any cosmetology topic. This coursework must be completed before you apply for your license renewal.
The only exception to the continuing education requirement is for license holders who are at least 65 years old and have continually had their license for at least 15 years. In this case, you are required to only undertake the one hour of sanitation coursework.
What to Do if You Have a Lapsed License
You can also renew your license even if it has lapsed. However, you will be required to pay an additional fee. For those whose license is expired for 90 days or less, they will owe 1.5 times the normal fee, which currently comes to $79.50. If you have a license that has been expired for more than 90 days but less than three years, you will need to pay double the normal fee, which is $103. You still have to adhere to all requirements to a license renewal, including completing continuing education, when you apply for a renewal with an expired license.
You will also need to submit extra paperwork is your license has been expired for more than 18 months and less than three years. This is the Request to Executive Director for Expired License Renewal form. On this form, you will have to list why you have let your license expire, with selections including death or serious illness in the family, out of country, job loss, birth or adoption of child, and other. You cannot renew a license that has been expired for more than three years; instead, you have to apply for a new one.
Why it is Important to Have a Current License
In order to practice cosmetology, you must have a valid and current license. If you are found working with an expired license, then you will be subject to enforcement actions by the TDLR. This could include administrative penalties and sanctions. This could hurt your chance of getting a license renewal in the future, as well as harming your career and costing you a lot of money.
A license also protects you from certain lawsuits and liability. You also need a license in order to get insurance and other important coverage. Your clients also expect you to have a license. If they find out you are working with an expired license, they will most likely stop patronizing your salon or chair, even if they do not report you to the TDLR.
How Beauty CE Can Help
Beauty CE offers a cost effective and hassle free continuing education course that is approved by the TDLR. It includes all four required hours, and you can take the courses before paying for them. However, in order to receive your certificate of completion, you do have to submit payment. This makes it easy to get your requirements complete and your license renewal application in before your deadline.