This is a great time to be a cosmetologist in North Carolina. The profession is seeing an increase in the number of skilled cosmetologists needed in the next few years. In fact, the U.S. Department of Labor states that with 673,700 cosmetology jobs nationwide, at least 70,000 more will be needed to handle the expected population growth. This upward spiral makes the prospects of being a cosmetologist excellent in the years ahead. In addition, many cosmetologists already actively practicing will be retiring, so the number of open positions will easily exceed the expected expansion figure.
North Carolina Rules for Practicing Cosmetology
In order to be licensed in North Carolina, you must obtain a degree from an approved school of cosmetology. Once you have amassed the required hours of training, which consists of a specified minimum number of hours for different specialties, you will be able to become licensed.
The number differs according to your chosen field. For instance, a cosmetologist must have a minimum of 1500 hours while an esthetician needs 600 hours to meet the requirement set by the state. A massage therapist is required to have 500 hours to be able to be licensed. Once the prerequisite training is finished, the licensure candidate must sit for the cosmetology board exam.
Maintaining Your North Carolina Cosmetology License
After all your hard work, you need to maintain your license by renewing it as required by the state. In North Carolina, cosmetologists are required to renew their license every three years. In order to do that. they must complete a minimum of continuing education hours. Continuing education is important for other reasons aside from its part in the renewal process. It allows the cosmetologist to hone his or her talent by becoming proficient in new processes and innovative styling techniques. This helps you build a solid reputation with your clients.
North Carolina Renewal for Cosmetology License
According to the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Arts Examiners, cosmetologists must finish 24 hours of continuing education in the three years between each renewal. Manicurists, estheticians, and natural hair specialists must complete a minimum of eight hours annually. If you are practicing cosmetology in North Carolina, you may be audited to ensure that your license is valid, and you have a certificate of completion for continuing education courses. The deadline for renewal is October 1 of the specified renewal year, which is when the old license expires.
Getting Continuing Education Credits in North Carolina
In order to renew your license, you must be able to prove you have completed the required number of continuing education courses in North Carolina. Given the hectic schedule of most cosmetologists, it is convenient that the state accepts online cosmetology classes to satisfy the requirement.
However, it is important to find classes that are approved for this purpose. Beauty Academy is approved by the North Carolina Board of Cosmetology to provide online continuing education classes. Our online course provides 24 hours of continuing education hours. It is easy to begin. Simply go to our North Carolina website, and click on the “start the course” button. You will be able to begin immediately. Do not worry if you can’t finish in one sitting. Simply pause the course, and resume when you can. Just remember to save what you have already done. When you return, you can hit the “resume a saved course” button, and you are good to go. You can pick up where you left off.
Paying for Online Continuing Education Classes
You won’t have to pay for the course until after you have completed it. When you have finished taking the course, there is no final exam. Simply click the “buy now” button, and pay the required fee. The 24-hour continuing education class costs only $29. Once you have paid, a certificate of completion is sent to you. The certificate can be sent to you by fax, email, or regular mail. Since the North Carolina Board of Cosmetology sometimes audits practitioners to make sure they are licensed appropriately, it is a great idea to put the certificate in a safe place. North Carolina does not permit direct reporting by the continuing education provider to the board.
Questions for Us?
If you have any questions for us, you can contact us by phone at (888) 290-9739, where continuing education specialists are waiting to take your call. You can also contact us online by email. Our students enjoy this access and we are happy to provide it. Check out our courses to learn how Beauty Academy can help you reach your goals today.