As a cosmetology professional in Wisconsin, it is important that you have an active cosmetology license from the Wisconsin Department of Safety and Professional Services. Once you have your initial license, it is up to you to ensure that you follow the guidelines for Wisconsin cosmetology renewal license to remain compliant. If you work under a lapsed license, even if it has only been a few days, you could face fines and even more severe consequences. The following facts are what you need to know to remain compliant.
The Wisconsin cosmetology renewal license window is every two years. The renewal period is in March of odd-numbered years. Typically, the renewal window will open in mid-February of that year and licensees have until the end of March to complete the application for a new license.
Currently, it costs $82 to renew your cosmetology license in Wisconsin, but it is subject to change. This is just the application fee; you may also need to budget to pay for your continuing education requirements leading up to your application and any late fees if applicable.
Continuing Education Requirements
In order to renew your license in Wisconsin, you must undergo continuing education. The continuing education requirements are new after a recent vote. Beginning with the March 2015 renewal period, it is required that cosmetology professionals complete four hours of state-approved courses. One of these hours must be in laws governing license holders and establishments, while the other three need to cover health and safety matters, including safety, infection control, and sanitation.
These courses must have been completed in the previous two years. For the March 2015 period, this would be from April 1, 2013, up to March 31, 2015. However, new licensees on or after April 2013 are exempt from the CE requirements for this renewal period. Similar requirements are in place for the next cycle, with the four hours needing to be undertaken between April 1, 2015, and March 31, 2017.
How to Renew
You can renew your license in Wisconsin online or through the mail. To complete the Wisconsin cosmetology renewal license process, you have to fill out the renewal application, pay the fee, and send in proof of your continuing education units. It is important that you also make any changes to your personal information, including your address and residency status if applicable.
Renewing an Expired License
If you miss the renewal deadline and your license expires, you can still apply for a Wisconsin cosmetology renewal license. However, you will have to pay a late fee of $25 on top of the normal few. However, if a few years have passed since your license was current, you may have to apply for a new license.
What is Inactive545 Status?
If you plan to not practice cosmetology but want to maintain current credentials rather than allowing your license to expire, you can apply for Inactive545 Status in Wisconsin. You have to do this through the mail on a specialty form. To apply, your license must be in good standing and you have to complete the standard renewal application as well as pay a $41 fee. It is necessary to complete the continuing education in order to qualify for this status. With this, you cannot practice or receive compensation for any of your work, but you can still be eligible for professional discounts at certain establishments.
It is important that you maintain a current cosmetology license if you plan to practice in Wisconsin. When March of odd number years comes by, it is time to make sure you have completed all continuing education units and apply and pay your renewal fee for your Wisconsin Cosmetology License renewal.
If you need your continuing education courses for your Wisconsin license, Beauty Academy can help. Check out our courses that are approved in Wisconsin and many other states.